• About Us


    Z Krewe is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit Mardi Gras organization, based in Galveston, TX. Z Krewe has 150 dedicated members and a growing ambassador membership from around the world.


    We have a devoted elected and appointed leadership that delivers year-round activities, which includes first class events and Zanie fun gathering in its drive to Perpetuate the Spirit of Mardi Gras.


    In addition to hosting Z best Mardi Gras events, Z Krewe is proud to have contributed thousands of volunteer hours and financial support to many local charities and organizations throughout the years.

    Our Members


    Zanies are what we call our Z Krewe members. Webster spells it zany but we zanily spell it Zanie!  


    Our membership is made up of 150 regular members and many ambassador members.


    Interested in membership? Download an application here, or email us at zkrewe@gmail.com.


    Big Daddy and Big Momma 27

    Jerry Keeth and Sarah Beth Maddox

    Big Daddy and Big Momma are the Krewe's Head Zanies. Big Daddy is chosen from the Krewe by the previous Big Daddies. Each Big Daddy then chooses his Big Momma from the Krewe in secret.


    See our Previous Big Daddies & Big Mommas >>

    Our Royalty

    King Zanie XXVI Mike Beckett & Queen Zanie XXVI Christie Dees

    In Z Krewe, all regular members can try for the prized gold babies. Hopefuls select a slice of cake, hoping a gold baby is buried inside. The king and queen are selected by pure chance and the luck of drawing the right slice of cake.


    The remaining royal court is comprised of those who draw the green, purple, white, and black babies. Ladies of the royal court are titled Royal Zaftigs. Our royalmen are titled Royal Zoots.


    Meet the Royal Court >>

    Zeloptypia Award Recipients

    2021: Dusti Baldwin and Steve Baldwin

    Each year, previous Zeloptypia Award Recipients come together to award this special recognition to one female & one male Zanie of Z Krewe.


    These members have demonstrated unfailing devotion to this organization and we thank them for all they do!


    See our Previous Zeloptypia Award Recipients >>

    Our Board of Directors

    May 2021 - April 2022


    • Steve Baldwin (Chairman)
    • Melinda Funni (Vice-Chair)
    • Melody Davis
    • Leon Kaplan
    • Sarah Beth Maddox
    • Alex Petty
    • Kristie Schoppe


    • David Mulcihy (President)
    • Jerry Keith (Vice President)
    • Pam Iltis (Treasurer)
    • Kristi Castanie (Secretary)