• Committee Sign-Up

    Click on the pencil below to Sign-up for a Committee and/or indicate if you want to Chair a Committee. 


    Scroll down to see Committee descriptions.

  • Ball Committee

    The Ball Committee is composed of many Krewe members, all dedicated to the planning and execution of the annual Z Ball, the Krewe’s most anticipated event. This Committee is assisted by a phenomenal group called The Ball Supporters.




    Committee Chairs: Cyndi Keeth and Pam Iltis


    Members: Linda Bridges, Tom Danowski, Melody Davis, Christie Dees, Ellen Eastham, Melinda Funni, Kelly Gardner, Cheryl Glorch, Kathy Hill, Jerry Keeth, Sarah Beth Maddox, Bob McDonald, Brandy McDonald, David Mulcihy, Haley Murphy, Jetti Pugh, Margaret Rodriquez, Evelyn Shem


    Liaison: Jerry Keeth


    Membership Committee

    The duty of the Membership Committee is to collect and submit applications for regular membership and ambassador membership to the Executive Committee. The Committee is also responsible for maintaining the list of “Zanies-in-Waiting” for potential regular and ambassador membership.


    Additionally, the Membership Committee serves as the “social” committee, and plans fun and exciting events throughout the year.


    Committee Chair: Ellen Eastham


    Members: Dusti Baldwin, Kristi Castanie, Carroll Cobb, Sarah Fletcher, Cheryl Glorch, Kathy Hill, Tommie McMillan, Haley Murphy, Pamela Petty, Jettie Pugh


    Liaison: Leon Kaplan

    Pancake Day Committee

    The Pancake Day Committee does one thing and one thing only -- they cook pancakes! And they do it well! This is an event that gets more and more Zanies out of bed each year. They discover that getting up before dawn to mix, pour, cook, and clean up is just the beginning of the festivities and fun on the final day of the Mardi Gras season. Plus, all the food not eaten is donated to a local charity!


    Following the pancake breakfast, the Zanies then go for a little rest and relaxation involving Mimosas and Bloody Mary's!


    Z Krewe’s Pancake Day Committee, Royalty, and other Zanies will carry on the worldwide Mardi Gras tradition born in 1445 in Olney, Buckinghamshire, England, by cooking up a breakfast of pancakes and sausage for the students, parents, and teachers.


    Committee Chair: Christie Dees and Jerry Keeth


    Members: Sarah Fletcher, Cheryl Glorch, Kathy Hill, Bob McDonald, Brandy McDonald, Tommie McMillan, Margaret Rodriquez, Robert Turnipseed


    Liaison: Kristie Castanie


    The Parade Committee organizes and manages the annual Z Krewe Processional, held the second Saturday of each Mardi Gras season by the Krewe. Processional also hosts the tailgate party prior to the parade.


    The annual Zanie Procession is held through the Historic Strand District along Mechanic Street from 25th to 20th and back up the Strand. Hundreds of Zanies throw their "best beads" to the crowds. The parade features bands, military units and zany revelers from other clubs, and is led by Big Daddy and Big Momma followed by King and Queen Zanie and their royal Zoots and Zaftigs.


    In addition, this Committee designs the Krewe's Special Beads, patches, and the sale and distribution of all beads is handled by this Committee.


    This next Krewe Parade will be February 18, 2023.


    Committee Chair: Steve Baldwin and Jeff McDonald


    Members: Dusti Baldwin, Tom Danowski, Brad Dees Ellen Eastham, Leon Kaplin, Heidi Lutz, Sara Beth Maddox

    Liaison: Pam Iltis

    Public Affairs

    The Public Affairs committee has one directive: Let the world know about Z Krewe. Functions include organizing the selection of the annual Krewe Poster, general advertising about the Krewe, and maintenance of the Z Krewe web site. They assist in promoting Z Krewe and its activities in order to generate public awareness of the activities of the Krewe by posting on Facebook and the Z Krewe website.


    Committee Co-Chairs: Dusti Baldwin and Heidi Lutz


    Members: Sarah Fletcher, Pam Iltis, Tommie McMillan, Haley Murphy

    Liaison: Melody Davis

    Royalty Committee

    The Royalty Committee provides direction and support for the King, Queen and members of the Royal Court. The Committee plans and produces three major events the cake cutting ceremony, at which the King, Queen and members of the court are chosen the coronation ceremony, at which the King and Queen are crowned, the court is presented, and the Legazies (children or grandchildren of current members) are presented to the reigning King and Queen; and the royal procession and toasting ceremony during the pre-Zestival procession.


    Committee Chairs: Alex Petty and Damien Treshman


    Members: Kristi Castanie, Carroll Cobb, Christie Dees, Jan Grizzle, Leon Kaplan, Sarah Beth Maddox, Haley Murphy, Pamela Petty

    Liaison: Kristi Castanie

    Steering Committee

    The Steering Committee is chaired by the Vice President, and its primary function is to oversee the by-laws and the annual elections of officers and board members.


    The Committee accepts proposals for by-law changes, and reviews and recommends changes or additions before presenting them to the Executive Committee for consideration. The proposed changes are then presented to the Krewe at the next General Meeting, and voted on at the General Meeting following that.


    The Steering Committee welcomes proposed bylaw changes from any member in good standing. Proposed changes may be emailed to jwkeeth@comcast.net.

    Committee Chair: Jerry Keeth


    Members: Brad Dees, Jan Grizzle, Leon Kaplan, Jerry Keeth, Cyndi Keeth, Alex Petty, Jettie Pugh

    Liaison: Alex Petty

    Ways & Means

    This committee works all year to supplement the Krewe’s finances and offer fun, Zany venues, and sponsorships that support fund-raising endeavors for the organization.


    The Ways and Means Committee plans to bring new and innovative fundraising opportunities to our program of works this year. Stay tuned for more details!


    Committee Chair: Sarah Fletcher and Jerry Keeth


    Members: Dusti Baldwin, Carroll Cobb, Cyndi Keeth, Brandy McDonald, Tommie McMillan, Haley Murphy, Jettie Pugh

    Z Charity Committee

    This committee has several duties.


    1) We make sure Z Krewe adheres to the guidelines and regulations of 501(c)(3) organizations, including preparing the paperwork to acknowledge donations received by the Krewe.

    2) We organize choosing charities the Krewe supports.

    3) Plan ways to support charities in the Galveston area.

    Committee Chair: Pam Iltis


    Members: Jan Grizzle, Leon Kaplan, David Mulcihy

    Liaison: David Mulcihy


    For Z Krewe, Zestival is synonymous with “PARTY.” What started out as a sincere, but dedicated gathering at two members’ home, has grown to one of the premier Mardi Gras events in Galveston.


    Zestival is held at the Jockusch Building on 2025 Strand, overlooking the Strand. Zestival Committee members strive to bring the best Mardi Gras experience to members and guests year after year. This committee procures the location, food, drink, in-house entertainment, and security for the two weekends of Mardi Gras, Z Krewe style.


    Committee Chairs: Craig Funni, Alex Petty & Dusti Baldwin


    Members: Steven Baldwin, Melody Davis, Brad Dees, Sarah Fletcher, Pam Iltis, Leon Kaplan, Jerry Keeth, Bob McDonald, Brandy McDonald, David Mulcihy, Haley Murphy, Pamela Petty, Jettie Pugh, Margaret Rodriquez, Robert Turnipseed 

    Liaison: Steven Baldwin